HKU Home Faculty of Arts
GO!
Home
About the School
Staff
News & Events
Research
Undergraduate
Postgraduate
Facilities
Study Abroad
Scholarships & Prizes
Career Planning
Alumni
CPLL Courses
Data Centre
 
Contact Us
staff

Staff
 
School of Modern Languages and Cultures
The University of Hong Kong
 
 
Head of School
Dr. Vogt, C. Roland   crvogt@hku.hk
 
Deputy Heads
Dr. Auer, Stefan Chair of Committee on Research and Postgraduate Studies stefauer@hku.hk
Mr. Holtermann, Sylvain Chair of Committee on Outreach and Development sylvainh@hku.hk
 
Programme Directors
Dr. Tesfaye, Facil African Studies Programme ftesfaye@hku.hk
Dr. Gruenewald, Tim American Studies Programme tgruene@hku.hk
Dr. Kim, Loretta China Studies Programme lekim@hku.hk
Dr. Fichter, James European Studies Programme fichter@hku.hk
Dr. Wong, Max W.L. Global Creative Industries Programme fattymax@hku.hk
Prof. Chu, Stephen Y.W. Hong Kong Studies sywchu@hku.hk
Dr. Nakano, Yoshiko Department of Japanese Studies ynakano@hku.hk
Dr. Cha, Paul S.K. Korean Studies Programme pcha@hku.hk
Mr. Refai, Amjad Arabic Programme amjad@hku.hk
Mr. Holtermann, Sylvain French Programme sylvainh@hku.hk
Mr. Urbanski, Paul Heinz German Programme urbanski@hku.hk
- Greek Programme  
Dr. Camporese, Nadia Italian Programme  nadcam@hku.hk
Ms. Almeida, Dora Portuguese Programme almeidad@hku.hk
Ms. Blasco-Garcia, Rocio Spanish Programme roblasco@hku.hk
Dr. Tolinsson Ting, Kristina Swedish Programme tolin@hku.hk
Ms. Ratana-U-Bol, Kanokwal Thai Programme took@hku.hk
 
 
AREA STUDIES
 
African Studies
Dr. Bezabeh, Samson Assistant Professor sbezabeh@hku.hk
Dr. Tesfaye, Facil Assistant Professor ftesfaye@hku.hk
 
American Studies
Dr. Gruenewald, Tim Assistant Professor tgruene@hku.hk
Dr. Fernández Melleda, Bárbara Assistant Professor bfernan@hku.hk
Dr. Steinberg, Monica Assistant Professor mstein@hku.hk
Dr. Ford, Staci Honorary Associate Professor sford@hku.hk
Dr. McGrath, Patrick Terence Lecturer pmcgrath@hku.hk
     
China Studies
Dr. Kim, Loretta Associate Professor lekim@hku.hk
Dr. Bennett, Mia Assistant Professor mbennett@hku.hk
Dr. Leung, Shuk Man Assistant Professor leungssm@hku.hk
Dr. Li, Ji Assistant Professor liji66@hku.hk
Dr. Wong, Samuel C.H. Lecturer samuelhh@hku.hk
Prof. Edwards, Louise P Honorary Professor ledwards@hku.hk
Dr. Orly, Selena Honorary Assistant Professor orly@hku.hk
     
European Studies
Dr. Auer, Stefan Associate Professor stefauer@hku.hk
Dr. Fichter, James Associate Professor fichter@hku.hk
Dr. Vogt, C. Roland Associate Professor crvogt@hku.hk
Dr. Amir Malikov Assistant Lecturer malikov@hku.hk
Prof. Cristaudo, Wayne Honorary Associate Professor cristaud@hku.hk
 
Global Creative Industries
Dr. Wong, Dixon H.W. Associate Professor hwwongc@hku.hk
Dr. Wong, Max W.L. Assistant Professor fattymax@hku.hk
Dr. Wong, Samuel C.H. Lecturer samuelhh@hku.hk
 
Hong Kong Studies
Prof. Chu, Stephen Y.W. Professor sywchu@hku.hk
Dr. Wong, John D.O. Associate Professor jdwong@hku.hk
Dr. Leung, Shuk Man Assistant Professor leungssm@hku.hk
Dr. Leung, Maggie M.F. Lecturer mmfleung@hku.hk
Dr. Chee, Wai Chi Honorary Assistant Professor wcchee@hku.hk
 
Japan Studies
Dr. Nakano, Yoshiko Associate Professor ynakano@hku.hk
Dr. Poch, Daniel Taro Associate Professor dpoch@hku.hk
Dr. Borland, Janet Assistant Professor borland@hku.hk
Dr. Trambaiolo, Daniel Assistant Professor trambaiolo@hku.hk
 
Korean Studies
Dr. Kim, Su Yun Associate Professor suyunkim@hku.hk
Dr. Cha, Paul S.K. Assistant Professor pcha@hku.hk
 
 
LANGUAGE & CULTURE PROGRAMMES
 
Arabic Programme
Mr. Refai, Amjad Assistant Lecturer amjad@hku.hk
 
French Programme
Mr. Holtermann, Sylvain Senior Lecturer sylvainh@hku.hk
Dr. Martinez, Valerie Lecturer martinez@hku.hk
Mr. Guerillot, Benoit Gilles Assistant Lecturer benoithk@hku.hk
Ms. Chin, Julienne H.Y. Assistant Lecturer julienne@hku.hk
Mr. Robert, David William Assistant Lecturer davidrob@hku.hk
 
German Programme
Mr. Urbanski, Paul Heinz Senior Lecturer urbanski@hku.hk
Dr. Chong, Li Lecturer lichong@hku.hk
Ms. Fung, Tonja Lecturer tonja@hku.hk
Mr. Purwins, Stefan Assistant Lecturer spurwins@hku.hk
Ms. Tang, Shirly Assistant Lecturer shirly.tang@hku.hk
 
Greek Programme
--    
 
Italian Programme
Dr. Camporese, Nadia Lecturer nadcam@hku.hk
Ms. Riboldi, Ilaria Assistant Lecturer ilarib@hku.hk
 
Japanese Programme
Mr. Hashimoto, Takuro Senior Lecturer thashimo@hku.hk
Ms. Chan, Yuen Ling Lecturer ylchan@hku.hk
Ms. Kobayashi, Maki Lecturer kmlui@hku.hk
Mr. Kodama, Hiroaki Lecturer hkodama@hku.hk
Ms. Mito, Atsuko Lecturer mito@hku.hk
Ms. Yoshikawa, Takako Lecturer tyoshika@hku.hk
Mr. Lau, Isaac K.H. Assistant Lecturer isaaclkh@hku.hk
Ms. Sasaki, Yukiko Assistant Lecturer ysasaki@hku.hk
 
Korean Programme
Ms. Lee, Kangsoon Senior Lecturer kangsoon@hku.hk
Ms. Chang, Eunkyung Lecturer eunkyung@hku.hk
Dr. Jeong, Jin Assistant Lecturer jinjeong@hku.hk
Ms. Paik, Youngkyoung Assistant Lecturer ykyoung@hku.hk
 
Portuguese Programme
Ms. Almeida, Dora Assistant Lecturer almeidad@hku.hk
 
Spanish Programme    
Ms. Blasco-Garcia, Rocio Senior Lecturer roblasco@hku.hk
Mr. Juaristi, Martin Lecturer martinjg@hku.hk
Dr. Vázquez Vázquez, Mercedes Lecturer mercedes@hku.hk
Ms. Berdun Villamonte, Irune Visiting Lecturer irune@hku.hk
Dr. Romo Simon, Francisco Assistant Lecturer romosf@hku.hk
Mr. Torrado Solo de Zaldivar, Pablo Assistant Lecturer pablot@hku.hk
 
Swedish Programme
Dr. Tolinsson Ting, Kristina Assistant Lecturer tolin@hku.hk
 
Thai Programme
Ms. Ratana-U-Bol, Kanokwal Assistant Lecturer took@hku.hk
 
 
SMLC OFFICE
 
School Head Office
Ms. Cheng, Lucilla School Head Assistant luci@hku.hk
     
Central Management
Ms. Cheung, Zena School Administration Manager zcheung@hku.hk
Ms. Shum, Dorothy   dshum@hku.hk
Mr. Lau, Eddie   wklaua@hku.hk
     
Information & Innovation
Ms. Yeung, Yvonne Manager yshyeung@hku.hk
Ms. Chau, Cherry Officer (Information) cycherry@hku.hk
Mr. Wong, Kin Officer (Innovation) kwonghku@hku.hk
Mr. Tang, Yu Hin Assistant Officer (Innovation) yuuki@hku.hk
     
Research Postgraduate Programmes
Ms. Shum, Dorothy Programme Manager dshum@hku.hk
Ms. Sio, Alvis Executive Assistant alvissio@hku.hk
     
Undergraduate Programmes (Area Studies)
Ms. Cheng, Lucilla Programme Manager (American Studies and Japanese Studies) luci@hku.hk
Ms. Lo, Evelyn Programme Manager (Global Creative Industries and China Studies (Arts Stream)) evelynlo@hku.hk
Ms. Lui, Lavender Programme Manager (Hong Kong Studies and Korean Studies) lavluiwy@hku.hk
Ms. Wong, Angel Programme Manager (African Studies and European Studies) angelwyt@hku.hk
     
Undergraduate Programmes (Languages)
Ms. Tse, Alice Programme Manager (French, German, Italian and Spanish) atkl.2021@hku.hk
Mr. Chow, Peter Programme Manager (Arabic, Portuguese, Swedish and Thai) ykchow@hku.hk
     
Non-degree Programme and Secondary School Programme
Ms. Tse, Alice Programme Manager atkl.2021@hku.hk
Mr. Chow, Peter Programme Manager (Secondary School) ykchow@hku.hk
Ms. Yim, Venus Programme Manager (Non-degree) yvyhcheu@hku.hk
Mr. Tang, Sam   samtkm@hku.hk
     
Outreach and Events
Ms. Cheng, Lucilla Events Manager luci@hku.hk
Ms. Lo, Evelyn Events Manager evelynlo@hku.hk
Ms. Lui, Lavender Events Manager lavluiwy@hku.hk
     
 
Technical Office
Mr. Ho, William School Technical Manager whcho@hku.hk
Mr. Lee, C.K. Senior Technician cklee@hku.hk
     

 
Home | Contact Us back to top